Skip to content

Cheers to good movies!

August 5, 2010

Inception. Caught it recently and I’ve started fangirling over joseph-gordon levitt. Oops. (the whole thing reminded me of my History & Theory lecturer, also a Joseph (:

Secretly, I seriously thought I could study architecture because I dream up of good designs, literally, through my night dreams. Be it colourful sofas or architectural spaces, or the unnaturally big blue moon in the sky, or outer space/parellel world with millions of celestial bodies hanging upside down. But in fact, studying architecture in real life isn’t as interesting as dreaming them. Well this movie definitely reminded of my 17 year old dream, just when I was about to choose my future path after high school. Its a whole lot more technical when we are bounded by gravitational forces.

In one part of the movie where Cobb takes Ariadne to his dream space for the first time ever and she overturns the world making it a square box, its shows how impossible fascinating things like that could be realized in the real world. Maybe it’ll be possible, but our already-advance-technology hasn’t figured out how to defy gravity. I was in the Tube (MRT, actually) when I’d realized it wouldn’t work if its in anti-gravity; well the train might be hooked down to the trails but we float in the train, and when the train moves forward, we’ll all slam into each other backwards, into the back of the train like mash potatoes until the train remains in constant velocity- then we’ll float aimlessly around. When the train decelerates we’ll all hit the part cabin. Ain’t that even more annoying compared to an impatient old auntie or an occasional durian fart in one particular car of the train?

Well, well. Anti-gravity means human can fly. We can fly, yes, by strapping ourselves to a machine called the aeroplane, or a glider, or any device that could generate the energy to pull away from gravitational forces. I guess it won’t happen on earth, it defies even  the simplest form of logic.

Recently I read about Academy of Neuroscience and Architecture (ANFA) in San Diego founded under American Institute of Architects ( AIA), and I’m extremely excited of what they are going do to in the following years. Its an interesting study of the sciences of how human reacts to space. Now I have 3 solid reasons why I want to visit San Diego *winks*.

***

Joint Crit 2’s over. Year 2’s critiques are much heavier than the first year’s; but it better be or else we won’t be learning and getting any better. Inception was right after Friday’s submission, with my mum and dad! 😀

Cheers

No comments yet

Leave a comment